The case: Coca-Cola is the proprietor of a well-known three-dimensional EU trade mark consisting of the shape of its contour bottle with grooves:

Coca-Cola bottle brand goodwillprotect.com

 

In addition, Coca-Cola applied for the following variation as a three-dimensional EU trade mark for beverages. The application was successful.

Coca-Cola new brand goodwillprotect.com

Beverages are usually sold in containers. The shape of these containers is also the shape of the product.

Can you register the shape as a trade mark? Actually, yes, but only under special conditions. This is because a trade mark must be able to indicate the origin of the relevant products as coming from a particular business. However, the average consumer does not usually conclude from the mere shape of a product or the shape of its packaging that the product originates from a particular business. For this to be the case, the shape applied for must already deviate considerably from the norm or what is customary in the sector, although unusual features are not required.

The shape of the bottle applied for did not contain such unusual features. But the combination of its vertical and horizontal grooves running across the bottles at various intervals was unusual and imaginative in the drinks market. It therefore clearly went beyond the usual shapes of beverage bottles. The shape of the bottle enabled consumers to distinguish the beverage it contained from the beverages of other manufacturers. Consumers may thereby buy the beverage contained in the bottle again if they have a positive impression or, conversely, may choose precisely not do so.

Accordingly, the applied-for shape of the Coca-Cola bottle was registered as a trade mark.

EUIPO, 31 March 2014, R 523/2013-2.

 

On the same day, Coca-Cola also registered the following bottle shape as a trade mark:

Coca-Cola rejected brand goodwillprotect.com

However, this shape of beverage bottle was common in the beverage sector. Could it nevertheless be registered as a trade mark? See the blog article Trade mark protection for common bottle shape – Coca-Cola.

 

Learnings: If you want to monopolise the shape of a product inexpensively for an indefinite period of time via trade mark protection, make sure that the shape deviates significantly from what is customary in the industry.

Der Fall: Coca-Cola ist Inhaberin einer bekannten dreidimensionalen Unionsmarke, die aus der Form ihrer Konturflasche mit Rillen besteht:

Coca-Cola bottle brand goodwillprotect.com

 

Zusätzlich meldete Coca-Cola die nachstehende Abwandlung als dreidimensionale Unionsmarke für Getränke an. Die Anmeldung hatte Erfolg.

Coca-Cola new brand goodwillprotect.com

Getränke werden üblicherweise in Behältnissen verkauft. Die Form dieser Behältnisse ist gleichzeitig die Form der Ware.

Kann man sie als Marke anmelden? Eigentlich ja, aber nur unter besonderen Voraussetzungen. Denn eine Marke muss auf die Herkunft der mit ihr gekennzeichneten Produkte aus einem bestimmten Unternehmen hinweisen können. Der Durchschnittsverbraucher aber schließt aus der bloßen Form der Ware oder der Form ihrer Verpackung gewöhnlich nicht auf die Herkunft der Ware aus einem bestimmten Geschäftsbetrieb. Hierfür muss die angemeldete Form schon erheblich von der Norm oder Branchenüblichkeit abweichen, wenngleich außergewöhnliche Merkmale nicht erforderlich sind.

Die angemeldete Flaschenform enthielt solche außergewöhnlichen Merkmale nicht. Aber die Kombination ihrer vertikalen und horizontalen Rillen, die in verschiedenen Abständen quer über die Flaschen liefen, war auf dem Getränkemarkt unüblich und fantasievoll. Sie ging über die üblichen Formen von Getränkeflaschen deshalb deutlich hinaus. Die Form der Flasche ermöglichte es den Verbrauchern, das in ihr enthaltene Getränk von den Getränken anderer Hersteller zu unterscheiden. Die Verbraucher werden hierdurch in die Lage versetzt, das in der Flasche enthaltene Getränk bei einem positiven Eindruck erneut zu kaufen oder dies im umgekehrten Falle gerade nicht zu tun.

Entsprechend wurde die angemeldete Form der Coca-Cola Flasche als Marke registriert.

EUIPO, 31. März 2014, R 523/2013-2.

 

Am gleichen Tage hatte Coca-Cola auch die nachstehende Flaschenform als Marke angemeldet:

Coca-Cola rejected brand goodwillprotect.com

Diese Form einer Getränkeflasche war jedoch auf dem Getränkesektor gewöhnlich. Konnte sie gleichwohl als Marke eingetragen werden? Vgl. dazu den Blogartikel Markenschutz bei üblicher Flaschenform – Coca-Cola.

 

Learnings: Wenn Sie die Form eines Produktes kostengünstig für unbegrenzte Zeit über den Markenschutz monopolisieren wollen, achten Sie darauf, dass die Form erheblich von der Branchenüblichkeit abweicht.